Book of Official Errata & Explanations
The majority of the following errata and explanations
were culled from Eric Noah's
Unofficial Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition News website. Only extracts
from WotC representatives are included here.
3E Players Handbook
Chapter 2: Races
"Gnomes 'cast spells'. They do
not have spell-like abilities." SKR
Chapter 3: Classes
Bards can learn to make arcane scrolls. Bards can cast
an arcane version of cure light wounds. Wizards can use arcane scrolls
to add spells to their spellbooks. Does this mean wizards can be running
around with cure light wounds spells? "The "acquire a spell from
a scroll or another source" was put there so sorcerers could learn new
sor/wiz spells in later books (since by default they can only develop
new spells in the PH). It's not intended that they can use it to learn
arcane healing spells from bards. Sorry. We already went over this one
in-house." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) Is the druid animal companion special
ability due to the fact that druids can cast the spell animal friendship?
"Yes, it's exactly from that spell. Creating a 1st-level druid assumes
that you've cast the spell already and can start with an animal friendshipped
animal. So this ability overlaps (does not stack with) the animal frienship
spell because it _is_ because of the animal friendship spell. Note that
your animal companion can gain hit dice as a character gains levels. The
Monster Manual has a line for "advancement range" for all creatures, which
is by character level or by hit dice. For example, a wolf, which starts
with 2 hit dice, can advance up to 5 HD. Note that the druids can also
use the awaken spell to give their companions intelligence, which means
the animal can advance in a character class." SKR
Monks lose their Wisdom bonus to AC when they wear armor.
So do monks have to worry about losing their Wisdom bonus when protected
by AC-enhancing magic? "Bracers of armor and the mage armor spell
do not count as 'wearing armor.'" SKR
"39, col 2 middle: Change 2 sentences above table: Usually,
a monk's unarmed strikes deal normal damage, but she can choose to deal
subdual damage instead with no penalty on her attack roll. She has the
same choice to deal normal or subdual damage while grappling (see Grapple,
page 137)." SKR
"There is no such thing as a monk making an unarmed
attack with an off hand (that's what the flurry of blows ability is for).
Here's the official errata: 39, col 2 top: Change second sentence: There
is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed."
SW
"Sor & Wiz levels stack for determining a familiar's
abilities." SKR
"Everything in that familiars sidebar (except the
abilities in Table 3-19) is based on the master's total level, not just
sor/wiz levels." SKR
Chapter 4: Skills
"Bluff Skill Ranged? Jonathan intended for it to be
used in melee combat only." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "After successfully feinting
(using the Bluff skill), when must I take the attack to get the bonus?
"...by your next turn."" SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "The first line of the DC
chart for Escape Artist (p. 68) should say "Binder's Use Rope check at
+10." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "Taking 20 is like taking
20 rounds, and on the first round it's like you roll a 1, the second round
you roll a 2, and so on, until the last round when you roll a 20. If something
bad happens to you if you rolled a 1, you can't take 20." SKR
Chapter 5: Feats
"Saving Feats for Later: I spoke to Jonathan
about this, and the intent was that you'd choose a feat as soon as a feat
slot became available. However, that's not explicit in the rules. So,
we worked out 3 options:
You choose a feat when you gain the slot.
You can choose your feat at any time during that level
in which you gain a slot (so you could suddenly develop Iron Will when
you realized you were fighting a mind flayer at level 6). (You could
do this with skills, too.)
You can hold your feats as long as you want and spend
them at any point after you get them.
Each is slightly more abusive than the previous, but none
are really broken enough to pitch a fit about. Whatever your DM likes."
SKR
(from 3E Message Board) Finesse: There's no problem
using two finessed weapons at once. "The Weapon Finesse feat
specifically says that if you use a _shield_ in your off-hand, you get
a penalty. It does not say you get a penalty if you carry a weapon in
that hand." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) The ambidexterity feat and how
it (doesn't) affect the reduced STR bonus to damage for the off-hand attack
(on the 3E message board): "Off-hand attacks always use 1/2 [of your]
Strength [bonus to the damage roll]. See the 2nd bullet under Strength
on pg. 8. Also see the second paragraph of page 119. Ambidexterity negates
the penalties from using an off-hand weapon. The glossary defines a penalty
as a "negative modifier to a die roll." As a reduction in your Str bonus
is not a penalty (it's just a less effective bonus), Ambi does not negate
it, and so an ambi character still has 1/2 Str bonus on their "off-hand"
weapon." SKR
Chapter 7: Equipment
"The artist added the grid for relative size comparison
between the weapons. When the sketches were routing, we did get various
comments back to the effect of making certain weapons bigger or smaller,
but nothing about actually spec'ing out the grid size. The grid was not
given a specific scale, and was just used as a reference to keep the things
in scale with each other. Given knowledge of the actual length of certain
weapons (the halberd is supposed to be 5 feet long, for example), you
can retrofit a scale onto it, but it's not likely that scale will be a
nice neat number." SKR
"Gauntlets and Spiked Gauntlets: Everyone is automatically
proficient with their own natural weapons (punches, kicks, and so on for
humans). The gauntlet in the PHB lets you "deal normal damage with unarmed
strikes...." The spiked gauntlet does not refer to unarmed strikes. Therefore,
I'd say that everyone can attack with gauntlets at no nonproficiency penalty.
Using a spiked gauntlet requires a proficiency. Note that gauntlets as
part of magic armor do not provide an attack bonus, just an AC bonus (when
with the entire armor). This is explained in the DMG. So should normal
gauntlets even be on the Simple Weapons list since you don't need Simple
Weapon proficiency to use them? It will be taken care of [in the next
printing] (it won't be on the weapons list, it will get a special mention
in the armor list)." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "Having a medium or heavy
load counts as medium or heavy armor for special abilities dependant upon
armor. (So for example, a Ranger can't use his special Ambidexterity and
Two-Weapon Fighting quasi-feats when in Heavy Armor; he also can't use
them when carrying a Heavy Load.)" SKR
(from 3E Message Board) The shuriken is an odd ranged weapon
in 3E -- because unlike any other weapon, you can effectively throw three
of them per attack. How exactly does it work? "When you make an attack
with shurikens, do you make three separate attack rolls? "Yes, although
you're throwing all of them as the same attack (in between the fingers,
one arm movement)." If a Rogue sneak attacks with shurkiens, does each
one get the sneak attack damage bonus? "No, just the first one. You can't
be precise enough with the other 2 attacks to get the sneak attack damage."
If you have Weapon Specialization or Point Blank Shot feats, do the damage
bonuses from these feats apply to each shuriken? "Yes." SKR
Chapter 8: Combat
(from 3E Message Board) How do you keep a wizard from taking
a 5' step and casting? "...opponents can ready an action that they'll
take _their_ 5' step toward the wizard and attack if the wizard steps
away." SKR
AoO: On p. 122 of the PHB, the following sentences
need a word replaced: "If all you do is move (not run) during your turn,
the space that you start out in is not considered threatened, and therefore
enemies do not get attacks of opportunity against you when you move from
that space. If you move into another threatened space, enemies do get
attacks of opportunity for your leaving the first second threatened space."
In other words, leaving that first threatened space is safe if all you
do is move, but it doesn't make any later threatened spaces that round
safe that weren't safe already. SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "Tower Shields: How do they
work? Work it like the shield spell - you can move it once per round,
on your turn, as a free action, defining which half of the battlefield
you orient it against. Opponents that are on the "line of defense" that
defines the side of the battlefield you're blocking with the shield would
have no more than 50% cover against you (and vice versa). Opponents that
are on your side of that line would not be blocked by the shield at all.
Can you Ready an action that lets you duck completely behind the tower
shield, giving you 100% cover? Yes, you can. That of course means you're
not doing anything but hiding, though. If flanked, can you pick one opponent
to block 100% and one to block 0%? Yup. Would this tactic negate the flanking
bonus? Nope. The second guy is still a threat ... he might break through
your shield, or hit you with a touch attack spell, and so on." SKR
Turning Undead: "If *you* approach within 10 feet
of them, however, they overcome being turned and act normally." "*You*
can attack them with ranged attacks ... and *others* can attack them in
any fashion, without breaking the turning effect." The DMG has a list
of conditions (stunned, blinded, and so on). and their effects. "Turned"
says that undead "flee ... [and] if they cannot flee, they cower." Cowering
is also a condition, which is defined as "The character is frozen in fear
... and can take no actions." So yeah, your buddies get to [wail] on them
until they're destroyed, and they don't fight back, because attacking
them doesn't break the turning effect (which is causing them to be frozen
in fear)." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) Do you make an attack roll to perform
a Bull Rush? "There isn't an attack roll there. It never came up
in playtesting that it needed one. And the difference between a grapple
and a bull rush is that a grapple requires an extensive contact that goes
beyond the normal shoving of a bull rush." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "There is no rule that says
an AOO can't trigger an AOO. You are limited to making one AOO on a creature
per round, so if I cast a spell (drawing an AOO from you) and [during
your AoO] you try to disarm my dagger from my free hand (drawing an AOO
from me) as your AOO and I try to disarm you back as my AOO on you, my
disarm attempt doesn't get an AOO from you because we've both had one
AOO on each other, which is the limit." SKR
Stunned and Butterfingered: Regardless of the fact that
it isn't always mentioned every time it's brought up, "You dropped things
when you're stunned." This is mentioned in PHBp282 but not in the
"Condition Summary" DMGp85. SW
Chapter 11: Spells
(from 3E Message Board) Must you choose all your mastered
spells as soon as you get the Spell Mastery feat, or can you wait? You
choose when you take the feat. What happens if your Int. increases, do
you get new Mastered Spells? "Nope, it's Int bonus at the time the
feat is taken." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) What happens if you score a critical
hit with a spell like Melf's Acid Arrow -- do you multiply the ongoing
damage? "Nope, just the initial (assume that the acid has done its
damage on the critted place and is now dripping onto normal areas)."
SKR
(from 3E Message Board) What happens when you score a crit
with a spell such as a ray which requires a successful attack roll? "Damage
(hit point or ability) is doubled. Ray of enfeeblement gives a penalty,
it doesn't inflict damage. Enervation gives negative energy levels, it
doesn't inflict damage. Therefore, neither of those doubles on a crit."
SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "The brief description of
haste in the Character Generator incorrectly indicates that the recipient
of the spell suffers subdual damage. The PHB is correct (doesn't cause
subdual damage)." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "True Strike Duration"
p267 col 3, "True Strike: change Duration [from 1 round] to See text.
Change within the duration of the spell too if it is made before the end
of the next round." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "Save for Symbol of Discord
should be "a Will save." School for both Dancing Lights and Continual
Flame is "Evocation (light)." SKR
"The Shield spell provides a cover bonus, but
does not actually provide cover. It's too powerful at 1st level if it
actually provides cover." SKR
Glossary
(from unabridged PHB glossary) "Attack Action: Any
one of the following physical attack types: melee attack, ranged attack,
unarmed attack, charge, or full attack. The first four of these are standard
actions that combine a single attack with a move. A full attack action
is a full-round action enabling a creature with multiple attacks to use
them all, but limiting movement to a 5-foot step. An attack action is
resolved by one attack roll per attack."
(from unabridged PHB glossary) "Illusion: A school
of magic focused on spells that alter perception or create false images.
Illusion spells work by deceiving the senses or minds of others. They
can cause creatures to see things that are not there, not see things that
are there, hear phantom noises, or remember things that never happened.
The subschools of the Illusion school of magic are figment, glamer, pattern,
phantasm, and shadow."
2000 Survival Guide
"That's an error, skeletons take half damage from piercing
or slashing weapons." SW
3E Dungeon Master's Guide
Chapter 2: Characters
"Ability score bonuses should always be even numbers.
Otherwise, it allows a character to create a bonus (by adding a +1 to
an odd stat) and hide a penalty (by subtracting from an odd stat). Essentially,
odd (+1/-1) ability score bonuses for races mean that all characters are
going to effectively have a +2/-0, since you can put the +1 where it benefits
you and put the -1 where it doesn't hurt you. Similarly, items that grant
ability score bonuses should always be even numbers, otherwise they don't
benefit all characters equally; a +1 belt of Strength has absolutely no
game effect on the character with a 12 Strength." SKR
"A number of spells given on the Witch spell
list no longer exist in 3E or have had name changes. Here are the corrections:
Cure blindness/deafness should be Remove blindness/deafness
Spectral force should be Major image
Advanced illusion should be Mirage arcana
Attraction should be replaced with False Vision
Avoidance should be replaced with Sending
Animate should be Animate objects
"Also note that antipathy/sympathy at 8th level are
two spells, and should be separated by a comma (actually, should be arranged
in alphabetical order)." SKR
"The column headers are misaligned ... check right
under where it says "Table 2-43: NPC Wizard" and you'll see 'Crossbow
Spllc/Kno'" SKR
Chapter 5: Campaigns
Ballistae "should use shortspears" SKR
Chapter 8: Magic Items
"There's some errata discussion going on internally
about the caster level vs. the prerequisites [for creating magic items
listed in the DMG]. I'll give you the info we're 100% certain on.
"1) CL is not necessarily a prerequisite, although
the prerequisites often influence the CL (for example, if a prereq for
an item that throws fireballs is the fireball spell, the CL has to be
at least 5, the minimum level to cast fireball).
"2) If the CL of an item doesn't have any influence
on its cost or its abilities, you can have the CL be anything up to the
creator's caster level. Essentially, the CL for some items is a no-cost
thing. Aside: Take the chime of opening, for example ... it uses a 2nd-level
spell (knock) for its abilities, but the caster level is listed as 11.
Obviously you don't need to be a 11th-level caster to make this item --
you only need to be 3rd to have CWI and the knock spell -- so the CL could
be as low as 3 (the actual minimum level you'd need to be to make it).
The caster level doesn't have anything to do with the effects of the item
- there's no dice of damage dependant upon level or effects that require
a skill roll (the part about the 15th-level limit for arcane lock is a
quirk of the item and not related to the spell at all, so we can ignore
it). Therefore, it doesn't matter if you set the caster level to 3, 10,
or 20. It's free, so set it to your own level and feel good about yourself.
"3) The listed CLs in the DMG are for a random item
off of the treasure chart. If you roll a random +1 ring of protection,
it's caster level is assumed to be 5th for the purpose of saves and such.
If a 19th-level sorcerer made such a ring, he could set the CL to 19 if
he wanted to, since the CL has no role in the item's cost (the CL only
determines what power level of the item you can make: +1, +2, etc.). So
use those listed CLs for random items, but set items that you make to
whatever caster level is needed (such as for a wand of fireball, where
it makes a difference) or whatever level you can (such as for the chime
of opening or the ring of protection, where the CL makes no difference
to the cost)." SKR
"The Staff of the Deathsong is in error.
The DCs should be 13 [for shatter] and 16 [for shout]. (This staff is
mentioned on p. 173-174)." SKR
(from 3E Message Board) "If you have an item that
increases Int and you are using it when you gain a level, you get the
extra skill points only as long as you have the item. If you lose the
item, those extra skill points go away. If you regain the item, you don't
get them back again." SKR
3E Monster Manual
Introduction
Energy Drain. "On p8 under Energy Drain, you should
strike out the part in parentheses in the following sentence: "For each
negative level inflicted on an opponent, the draining creature heals 5
points of damage (10 on a critical hit)." "The parenthetical should
be struck (it's a leftover from an earlier draft of the rules)." SW
Improved Grab. "If you take the -20, you're not considered
grappled, once you decide, you have
to take -20 for any grapple checks you make until your next turn. On your
next
turn, you can stop taking the -20, but if you do you're considered grappled
until
it's your turn again (at which point you can take the penalty or not)."
SW
Example of Monster Advancement. "Challenge Rating:
The otyugh's experience award increases by the same ratio as the increase
in Hit Dice, and its effective CR increases +1 for each full +50% by which
the Hit Dice increase. This creature grew from 6 to 15 HD, a multiplication
of 2 1/2. Parties who defeat this monster receive 2 1/2 times the normal
experience award. Since its HD increase +150%, its effective CR rises
3 steps from CR 4 to CR 7." SKR
Bestiary
Wraith. "A character slain by a wraith becomes a wraith,
not a wight" WotC Customer Service
3E Sword and Fist
Chapter 1: Feats and Skills
Blindsight. "You can't hide from someone with Blindsight
(at least not without a barrier between you and the viewer)." SW
Circle Kick. If you use Circle Kick [or Dirty Fighting],
you get *one* unarmed attack. If you hit, you get a second unarmed
attack using the same bonus as your first attack." SW
Expert Tactician. Using the extra partial action for Expert
Tactician, "Like any other partial action (I suggest you limit that
action to something that can be construed as an attack against a foe who
is denied Dex bonus.)" SW
Feign Weakness. Number of Feign Weakness attempts per combat,
"As often as the DM lets you. Once per combat is safe. You might
want to add a +5 to the Sense Motive check for any extra attempts."
SW
Feign Weakness. "The feat's Benefit section should
begin with "When you make an unarmed attack...." Basically,
the feat allows you to "fake" being unarmed when you make an
unarmed attack (which, if it were true, would draw an AOO), but you're
really armed, so you get to attack that opponent flat-footed. Being unarmed
does not draw an AOO. Attacking unarmed against an armed opponent does
draw an AOO (unless you have Improved Unarmed Strike), and the point of
the feat is to make you look like this to trick your opponent." SKR
Knockdown. A fighter with the Knockdown feat does not get
a free attack from Improved Trip against a creature that he trips due
to a knockdown. SW
Lightning Fists does not stack with Flurry of Blows; you
make 3 attacks only, each at your base attack bonus, -5. SW
Pain Touch causes a target to be "stunned for one
round, nauseated for one round after that." SW
Prone Attack. Can you regain your feet as a free action
if you don't attack? "No, you can only get up free if you make
a successful attack" SW
Snatch Arrow. "Just like Deflect Arrows, except to
catch the missile instead of just deflecting
them." SW
|